The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant

I hadn’t read anything by Tilly Tennant before but was very drawn to that lovely summery cover and the promise of ‘romantic comedy with plenty of cake’. I must say that there isn’t much cake in this book as it’s more about the renovation of the bakery but it is the first in a planned series so I will look forward to the cake in future books!

The old bakery in the village of Honeybourne (what a lovely name by the way) has become very run down but new resident Millie has high hopes of renovating it. Unfortunately she has bought it unseen and hasn’t realised quite what a task she has set herself. The story follows her as she makes friends in the village and tries to work out how on earth she will be able to make the bakery viable again. Jasmine, a local jewellery designer, takes her under her wing while trying hard to keep her Casanova of a brother, Dylan, from moving in on the new arrival! Jasmine’s husband Rich, however, is suspicious of Millie and is sure she is hiding something.

As I was reading this book it was, for once, a glorious day and I was able to sit outside in the sunshine. This certainly added to my enjoyment as I read about the goings-on in the village during their hot summer. The village sounded like an idyllic place to stay with lots of lovely characters and the odd nosy-parker such as Ruth Evans. I enjoyed reading about the various different villagers and getting to know Millie in particular. I was trying to guess what her secret was and really felt for her when it was revealed and in such a public way by the nasty Rowena! There was a lot about making a new start and second chances which always makes a book engaging for me.

Get yourself out in your garden, with a cool drink and maybe some cake and enjoy this lovely summery read. Unless it’s raining, in which case let the book transport you to the sunny village of Honeybourne instead. I’m looking forward to reading more about Millie, Jasmine, Dylan and Rich when the next book is published later this year. I recommend this light and entertaining book to anyone who enjoys stories about village life and friendships.

My thanks to the publishers Bookouture for allowing me to read a review copy of this book via Netgalley. It will be published as an e-book on 15th June and you can order a copy here: The Little Village Bakery

From the back of the book

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s