True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by @_AnnieDarling #review @W6BookCafe

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by [Darling, Annie]

It seemed to take me ages to read this book but it certainly wasn’t because I wasn’t enjoying it. I had one of those very busy weeks where I hardly had time to pick up a book, which was very frustrating as I really wanted to know what was going to happen!

First of all, what’s the book about?

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise – not to fall in love with each other…

I read the first of this series last year and really enjoyed it but if anything, I enjoyed this one even more. Don’t worry if you didn’t read the first book, The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts, as this is a self-contained story with only passing references to the first book.

What I particularly enjoyed about this book were the references to Pride & Prejudice scattered throughout. There are apt quotations from Jane Austen’s classic at the beginning of each chapter and it is Verity’s favourite book, almost her bible. When faced with any tricky decisions, her mantra is ‘What would Elizabeth Bennet do?’. The story itself certainly had parallels with Pride & Prejudice too with Verity having four sisters, being intelligent, strong-willed and independent and with the relationship between herself and Johnny being not dissimilar to that between Elizabeth and Mr Darcy. But does everything end up as it does in the original with a ‘happy ever after?’ (coincidentally the name of the bookshop where Verity works). Well, I’ll leave you to find that out when you read the book.

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop is, as the title suggests, a sweet romantic story. It has a lot of warmth and humour and is perfect escapism when you want a feel-good read. I must add that I loved Verity’s large and eccentric family and would love to read more about her sisters at some point.

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop is published by Harper Collins and available in paperback and e-book. It is available at all good bookshops or you can order a copy online here.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by @_AnnieDarling #review @W6BookCafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s