A Christmas Gift by @SueMoorcroft #TenThings @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour

If you are a regular reader of this blog you will know I am a big fan of Sue Moorcroft’s book. It’s a little too early for me to start reading Christmas books but I couldn’t miss out on the chance to take part in the blogtour for her latest novel, A Christmas Gift. It is published by Avon Books and available in ebook just now – order your copy here – and it will be published in hardback on 1st November. I will, of course, be reviewing the book, probably sometime in November. Today I’m sharing #TenThings that Sue Moorcroft would like her readers to know about her.

#TenThings

 Sue Moorcroft

I write two books a year for Avon: one for Christmas and one for summer. It’s a lot of writing but it’s great to have the publication day excitement twice a year – or three times a year, really, as the Christmas ebook comes out a month before print, so we celebrate twice.

 

A Christmas Gift is my first ‘proper’ hardback! Occasional foreign editions or large print editions have come out in hardback but this is the first time a publisher has offered me a hardback with the paperback to follow. It feels like a promotion!

 

I’m an army kid and was born in Germany near Mönchengladbach at a hospital that had been used for euthanasia by the Nazis during World War II. I’ve lived in Cyprus and Malta as well as the UK. I’ve been based in Northamptonshire, England since the army part of my childhood ended.

 

When my children were at primary school I successfully campaigned to have vandal-proof fencing erected at their school after a teenager walked into the infants’ playground and punched my son in the face. I did not give up, I would not allow myself to be put off, and the fence went up. It’s still there. During this campaign I learned the value of threatening to go to the press.

 

Not giving up has also been useful in my career as a writer as it took roughly twenty years to become an overnight success. Not giving up is considerably easier now my books get published and do well. When my editor at Avon pitched my current contract to my agent she said that the aim was to make me a Sunday Times bestselling author. When I read this I said aloud, ‘Good luck with that!’ But it happened with the very first book of that contract, The Little Village Christmas.

 

I learned one of my life skills, touch-typing, on a secretarial course. At the beginning of the course I discovered that I could have applied to be a cub reporter on the local paper if my school had been one of those approached by the paper. I should have instantly written to the paper and asked to be considered for the following year, but I went into a sulk and joined a bank instead.

 

I love Formula 1. Please do not speak to me whilst I’m watching it.

 

 

Reading is another great joy. I like to read feel-good books and the current preoccupation with dark thrillers has completely passed me by. If I’m asked to read a book with a view to providing a quote I always try to find out whether it will make me sad before I say yes (or no).

 

I love my family. Last year nineteen of us went to Malta together and it was a wonderful week.

 

I won my bronze medal for swimming when I was five. When you live in a hot country and can swim in the sea every day from April to November it’s possible to become quite good quite quickly. (PS If I’m going to be scrupulously honest, I was almost six.)

 

From the back of the book

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

Don’t miss the rest of the tour with these fabulous bloggers

A Christmas Gift Blog Tour - Oct

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “A Christmas Gift by @SueMoorcroft #TenThings @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour

  1. Paula Williams 14/10/2018 / 8:44 am

    I love Sue’s books and will definitely look forward to this one. One for the Christmas stocking, I think!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. suemoorcroft 14/10/2018 / 9:24 am

    Thanks for hosting today’s stop on the #AChristmasGift, Joanne, and for allowing me to share my #TenThings. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

  3. suemoorcroft 14/10/2018 / 9:29 am

    Reblogged this on Sue Moorcroft blog and commented:
    Thanks to Portobello Book Blog for inviting me on to share #TenThings people may or may not know about me. I thought it would be nice to share it here too.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.