Read an #Extract from The Child on Platform One by Gill Thompson @wordkindling @HeadlinePG #randomthingstours

I’m pleased to be kicking off the blogtour for The Child on Platform One by Gill Thompson by sharing an extract from the book. First of all, let’s see what the book is about.

Inspired by the real-life escape of thousands of Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Europe on the Kindertransport trains to London, the new novel from the author of The Oceans Between Us Gill Thompson. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, The Choice by Edith Eger and Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away – even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down.

Click the download button to read the prologue from the book

If that has whetted your appetite, you can pre-order the ebook now. It will be published by Headline in e-book and audiobook formats on Sunday 1st December. The paperback will follow next March. My thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me to take part in the tour. Click here to order your copy: The Child on Platform One

About the author

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US, was a No. 1 digital bestseller and has been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.


One thought on “Read an #Extract from The Child on Platform One by Gill Thompson @wordkindling @HeadlinePG #randomthingstours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.