The Last Day of Winter by @ShariLow @aria_fiction #bookreview

I am delighted to be sharing my review today of the last in Shari Low’s Winter Trilogy. I loved both the previous books in the series and this one was equally as good. You can read my reviews if you’d like to by clicking on the titles: One Day in Winter and Another Day in Winter.

The Last Day of Winter follows a similar format to the others. The action takes place largely over one day which is broken down into two hours parts. There are four main narrators: Caro who is getting married to Cammy but has a serious case of cold feet, Stacey who is determined to tell Cammy her true feelings before it’s too late, Seb an old friend of one of the main character’s family and Josie, wedding planner extraordinaire with a secret she will not allow to spoil the big day.

Well, there’s certainly plenty going on during this day! I can’t really say too much about the plot because I think it would reveal too much of what happens. But as the blurb mentions a runaway bride, I think I am on safe ground when I tell you that Caro has decided she can’t possibly get married which leads to a flurry of tension and activity as Josie tries to find out what has happened and to keep Cammy from knowing there could be a very big problem on his big day. I have to say I was quite frustrated with Caro for a large part of the book. I could understand her concerns to a certain extent but for goodness sake, she had the wonderful Cammy to confide in! And what a lovely character Cammy is. Despite all that was going on, he knew that his love for Caro – and hers for him – was absolute and certain. He was incredibly understanding of the situation and generous in his way of dealing with it.

The characters are really what make Shari Low’s writing so enjoyable as well as her skill at capturing their emotions perfectly and making them feel so real to her readers. The trilogy has focussed on many characters with some being in each of the books to a greater or lesser degree. The irrepressible Josie is one of these and the standout character for me in this book. I just loved her zest for life, her determination to see Caro and Cammy have a happy ending, her eccentricity and her unabashed bluntness in the way she dealt with everyone. Her love and concern for others shone through all she did. She might be considered a bit of a rough diamond, takes no nonsense from anyone, takes people as she finds them, would do almost anything for anyone and certainly doesn’t hold back from speaking her mind!

This book will take you on a real roller-coaster of emotions. There’s so much in it about family and friendship, there’s romance, there’s drama, there are beautifully poignant scenes, there’s sorrow but also so much happiness and hope. In The Last Day of Winter, Shari Low has written a touching, emotional and heartwarming story which is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy.

Thanks to publishers Aria Fiction for my review copy of the book via Netgalley. The Last Day in Winter is available now as an ebook. You can order your copy online – buying links are below for various ebook platforms.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2HWoiYA

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2Zq1KFD

iBooks: https://apple.co/2ZssftV

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2ZxvpMR

From the back of the book

One December wedding. One runaway bride. One winter’s day to bring everyone together again.

Today is the day Caro and Cammy are due to walk up the aisle. But Caro’s too caught up in the trauma of her past to contemplate their happy ever after.

Stacey’s decision to return from L.A. is fuelled by one thing – telling Cammy how she feels, before it’s too late.

Wedding planner, Josie, needs to sort the whole mess out, but she’s just been dealt some devastating news. Can she get through the day without spilling her secret?

On a chilly winter’s day, they have twenty-four hours to prove that love can lead the way to a brighter future…

Perfect for fans of Isabelle Broom, Sarah Morgan and Amanda Prowse.

About the author

Shari Low is the No1 best-selling author of over 20 novels, including One Day In Winter, A Life Without You, The Story Of Our Life, With Or Without You, Another Day In Winter and her latest release, This Is Me. And because she likes to over-share toe-curling moments and hapless disasters, she is also the shameless mother behind a collection of parenthood memories called Because Mummy Said So.

Once upon a time she met a guy, got engaged after a week, and twenty-something years later she lives near Glasgow with her husband, a labradoodle, and two teenagers who think she’s fairly embarrassing except when they need a lift.

For all the latest news, visit her on Facebook, twitter, or at http://www.sharilow.com

Social media links

Website: www.sharilow.com

Twitter: @ShariLow

Facebook: @sharilowbooks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.