Love, Locked Down by Beth Reekles – #bookreview – @reekles @BooksSphere @LittleBrownUK – #LoveLockedDown

Love, Locked Down follows five couples over the course of one week when they are locked down in their building. It’s described as perfect for fans of The Flat Share and Love Actually and since I love both of those, I was very pleased to have the chance to read this. My thanks to Frankie at Little Brown for sending me a copy. It will be published by Sphere Books next Tuesday (1st of February) in paperback and ebook formats.

About the book

Five couples. One week. A love story like no other . . .

When an apartment block is put on lockdown, its residents are in for a whirlwind week. Wild and reckless Imogen is stuck living with a one-night-stand in Flat 14 whose name she can’t remember (and who she tried to steal a t-shirt from while sneaking out), and is forced face the reality that maybe it’s time she grew up.

Upstairs, Isla and Danny are still in their honeymoon period, but a warts-and-all week together so early in the relationship could make or break their romance (hello, secretly applying concealer in the bathroom at 6am). Meanwhile, Zach and Serena’s steady relationship is on tenterhooks, and pineapple on pizza might actually be the last straw.

At Flat 22, Olivia’s Maid of Honour duties are pushing her to the edge as a wedding-planning weekend has turned into an entire (nightmarish) week… And speaking of weddings, this whole thing has made Ethan realise he wants to spend the rest of his life with Charlotte, if only he can surprise her with the perfect proposal – and find a way to sneak her into the building . . .

From make-ups to break-ups, one-night stands and proposals, Love, Locked Down is the ultimate love story. Perfect for fans of THE FLATSHARE, OUR STOP and LOVE ACTUALLY

My Thoughts

Love, Locked Down is set just before the official lock down in March 2020, at the time when people knew something quite serious was happening with the virus but not quite the extent to which it would affect their lives. When someone in the apartment block in London Lane catches Covid, the whole building is put into a strict lock-down with no-one allowed in or out at all. This leads to some very interesting situations as you’ll have read about in the book description above. Some of the characters are loosely linked, although not always knowing it at the time, and not just because they live in the same building.

I know some people don’t want to read about anything related to Covid yet and some authors are choosing to ignore it completely and I quite understand that point of view. However, I think there is something about reliving a shared experience in fiction, something that makes you relate to characters and remember your own feelings at that time. I’m not sure we’re ready for films about lockdown just yet – or maybe that’s just me – but when we are, I think this would make a great film.

Love, Locked Down is quite fast paced as it moves from character to character and from day to day over the course of the week in short chapters. I found I read this quite quickly as I wanted to find out what was happening with each situation and each character as the week went on. All of what we have all experienced is concentrated into the lives of these people locked down in the building. The frustrations of not being allowed out, the problems of people in the same space all trying to work from home, the zoom quiz nights, the difficulty booking food deliveries, the fear and anxiety, the separation from loved ones, the online workouts, the polarisation of relationship situations both good and bad.

I really enjoyed this book and was caught up in each couple’s story, wondering just how things were going to work out for them. I couldn’t help but feel sorry for them as they celebrated their eventual freedom at the end of the week’s lockdown, not knowing that actually a much longer lockdown was on the way! The final storyline encompassing all the characters was just fabulous and put a big smile on my face. I said above I thought this would make a great film and that particular part is worthy of any romcom film finale. Love, Locked Down is an engaging, fresh and funny read about people muddling through a tense week and finding out lots about love.

About the Author

Beth Reekles is the bestselling author of the sensational YA series THE KISSING BOOTH, now a major Netflix hit and one of the streaming services’ most watched series. In 2014 Beth was listed in The Times at No. 6 on their ‘Top 20 under 25’ list. You can follow her on Twitter @Reekles 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.