It Must be Love by Caroline Khoury | #bookreview | @carolinekauthor @centurybooksuk | #romanticfiction

Happy Valentine’s Day! Since it’s a day all about love, I thought I should feature some romantic fiction. So I’m delighted to share my review of the gorgeous debut novel from Caroline Khoury, It Must Be Love.

About the book

Fourteen days together. Fifteen years apart.
Their love story isn’t over yet…

When Abbie met Oz they were young, idealistic students from different backgrounds, but their connection was unmistakable. Then Oz went home to Istanbul and life moved on.

Years later, Abbie and Oz meet again – a chance encounter that could change everything.

Despite leading very different lives, they find themselves drawn to each other once more. But they have commitments, jobs and families that take priority – and too much time has passed… Hasn’t it?

From London to Istanbul, Paris to Beirut, It Must Be Love is a heart-wrenching story that will leave you believing in the power of fate and destiny. Perfect for fans of Josie Silver and Sophie Cousens.

My Thoughts

If you like a second chance romance, then this is the book for you. Or should that be a third, fourth or even fifth chance romance? From the first chance encounter in London when Abbie literally falls into Oz’s arms, they find themselves somehow bumping into each other in various places throughout the world over the next 15 years. So we are treated to some wonderful locations such as Istanbul, Damascus, Paris and even Beirut as Abbie and Oz seem to find each other again and again. But with such different lifestyles, in different countries and with both being involved with other people, it seemed that they would never meet at just the right moment.

I was desperate for fate to take a hand, so sure that their destiny was to be together, but each time they met, there was some reason why it just couldn’t work, from family issues to work commitments to other relationships. I thought that the other characters in the book worked really well too showing that it’s not just romantic relationships which can have their ups and downs. Abbie’s friend Liz in particular was a great character and apart from one slight wobble, it was lovely to see how they supported each other through everything, a brilliant female friendship.

But it’s Abbie and Oz who are the shining stars of this book and who you will fall in love with. On the cover of my review copy of It Must Be Love it says “2022’s most romantic read” and that could be right. I adored the story of Abbie and Oz and finished the book with a happy sigh. Just wonderful! 💗

It Must Be Love is a perfect read for Valentine’s Day. At the time of writing, it was just 99p for Kindle, though on a limited time offer so do check before clicking. If you love romantic fiction, get yourself a copy anyway 💗

My thanks to Sarah Harwood for sending me a copy of the book along with a gorgeous rose scented candle. It Must be Love is published by Century Books (an imprint of Penguin Random House)
and is available now from all good book shops.

About the Author

Caroline Khoury was born in Beirut to a Lebanese mother and Welsh father, and grew up in suburban London. She recently returned to the UK after more than a decade in Hong Kong, Japan and America. IT MUST BE LOVE is her debut novel.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.